![]() |
|
|||
[QUOTE]Originally posted by umpyre007
Question: Under OBR rules could a runner that makes only a head feint towards second base be judged by the umpire as now being in jeopardy of being tagged out? If not, do additional physical "feinting" mechanisms have to be put into effect by the runner to be in jeopardy? If a runner cannot be tagged out for feinting towards second base then at what point is he considered to be "attempts to run" as noted in the rule? Quote:
Some FED coaches in my area were either managers, business managers, or "nofficial," official advisers to Pony, Inc., teams. Those FED guys were perfectly aware that the high school rule included "feint" while OBR says "attempt." "That was a feint; he didn't try to go" was a common complaint from those skippers. So I devised the "traveling rule." After the kid sees the ball get away, he may take one step toward second; but if he "travels" (that is, if he then lifts his pivot foot), he has made an attempt and is jeopardy of an out. I have always observed that the easier you make the job for the kids when they are starting out to officiate, the more likely you are to keep them in our fraternity. Bottom line, though: It's umpire judgment, as you say. BTW: Just in case someone "misunderstands": The one step travel rule does not cover the case where the kid simply turns to the right to hustle back toward first. There, he might make two or three steps toward second without being in jeopardy. After overrunning a base, B-R's do one of four things: They:
It's the difference between numbers 4 and 5 that creates the need for guidelines. |
Bookmarks |
|
|