The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 16, 2005, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 109
Consider if you will...

A very similar situation:

Bases loaded, 3-0 count, next pitch ball 4, R3 as before misses home plate.

R3 continues towards his dugout, a good 80' away from the plate, and is just two steps away from entering. At this time one of his teammates shouts to R3, "They're appealing you missing home!" R3 turns and observes that F1 has thrown the ball to F2; the ball is about half-way to home. R3 then starts to run back to the plate. Before R3 has traversed even one-third of the distance back to the plate, F2 has secured the ball while touching home, and asks for the appeal.

To those of you who have argued against my position:

Are you asserting that since R3 started back to home before F2 had the ball on the plate that he must be tagged, and that he cannot be called out simply on appeal?

(Edited for grammar, spelling, understandibility, etc.)

[Edited by dddunn3d on Feb 16th, 2005 at 10:42 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1