The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2005, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Play: Bases loaded, two out. Batter hits home run out of ball park but passes runner on first before runner on third reaches the plate. All runners continue around the bases and touch home.

Ruling: No runs score; this is a time play. [Note clarification to Official Rule 4.11© Approved Ruling.]


Very interesting. The key is put out versus declared out.

So in the well-known "2 out, bases loaded, batter gets a walk" play where the BR takes a turn around 1B and is tagged out before the run scores, the runner on 3B is still "forced" home and his run counts. It is not a time play. But if the BR takes a turn around 1B and somehow passes the runner originally on 1B, the run scores only if it crossed the plate before the out.

Tagged out, run forced home, not a time play.

Declared out, time play.

(Right?)
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1