The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2005, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dover, DE
Posts: 103
Send a message via Yahoo to Delaware Blue
[QUOTE]Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Note that there's often a difference between "put out" (an act by the defense) and "declared out" (a violation by the offense noted by the umpire)
I agree. There is a difference between being put out and declared out. In either case (the base on balls cited in the rule or the home run in the original post), the runner or BR reaches the awarded base and touches it prior to either being put out or declared out beyond that base. In both cases, the runner and batter-runner touched the base necessary to "force" the preceding runner to score. For the intent of the rule, I do not believe there is a distinction. But there may be. I haven't found a professional interpretation that would contradict the application of 7.04(b) during the dead ball situation as originally posted. If there is, I'd be interested in reading it since I'm always willing to learn.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1