The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 22, 2001, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 196
Red face Apples v Oranges II

Quote:
Originally posted by Bfair
)

Fed Casebook 1.4.2 references situation whereby "The umpire informs the coach that a protest for such reasons will not be considered....."
Steve
Member
EWS
Apple v Orange as it related to the original controversy.

142 above refers to a protest that is made in VIOLATION of TIME of PROTEST rules. And it is, of course, correct. The proverbial, "Sorry, Coach, it is TOO LATE for you to protest that now!"

Some of the other discussion was the question of the Umpire making an onfield decision as to the validity of a protest as to its Judgment v Interpretation.

Ex. 2. (I had this last season). Coach (former Major League Player!!) had a disagreement with me over a play on a batter. (I was, of course, right). He REALLY thought I was wrong. He returns to dugout. Two pitches are thrown to next batter. 1-1 count. TIME! He goes to mound.. then comes back to me and announces. "Mike, I'm going to protest this game, I don't think you got that play right."

OOOPS, Sorry,BUZZZ...Aaaaaaaak. Thank you for playing!! Here are some lovely parting gifts.

"Uh, Dave, you can't protest! It is too late!"

Now in this case he just left and fumed. IF he had INSISTED... then I would have refused and eventually tossed him. (I need to get my EJ #s up....I'm too mild mannered).

Mike Branch
Member
EWS
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1