The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 29, 2005, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
The inning is over when the third out is made. Therefore, no additional base running is legal. 7.10d allows the defense to get an advantageous 4th out. The offense can not remove their opportunity to do that because "the inning is over". If the BR fell down, and the third out made before he reached 1B then he can't keep running to 1B because "the inning is over".
First of all, while I do not, at first examination, agree with your ruling, I have no particular logical problem with it. I can see holding that the rule allows D to continue to "play", notwithstanding that the "inning is over." However, the response to the inevitable question: WHY NOT allow the runner to "respond" to the D's continuing action sounds uncomfortably close to "because I say so!" [Not that I am unalterably opposed to that- ask my kids] What I would like to know is, do you have any supporting authority [official / authoritative interpretation; recognised precedent] for the ruling, other than your opinion?

I am also curious, since your example:
Quote:
If the BR fell down, and the third out made before he reached 1B then he can't keep running to 1B because "the inning is over
seems to contradict the example and ruling cited by a fellow a few posts back.

[Edited by cbfoulds on Jan 29th, 2005 at 07:01 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1