The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 06, 2005, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by southump
Carl, I read the thread carefully and I still not understand it fully. Maybe because of my english. Anyway in this case, I would like to ask if appealing to first would not constitutes a second appeal on the same runner on the same base. The first one was the throw from the outfielder, so that would be somehow the philosophy for the bases asssignment?.
No, the throw from the outfield is an appeal during continuing play. The ball goes dead. If the runner does not retouch the base he left early before touching a succeeding base after the ball has gone dead, that infraction occurs AFTER the original throw. In effect, it's the runner's second mistake that the defense would appeal.

The clear intent -- and the way it's interpreted in all of the manuals -- is that during relaxed action, no runner may be appealed twice at the same base.

Good point!
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1