The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 05, 2004, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by Gee
OK, I have learned, from the Great One, that "if a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base" (OBR 7.01).

If the runner attempts to return the umpire should warn him and if he persists should be called out. (JEA, J/R, Fitzpatrick and Childress).
There is nothing in JEA, at least, about "warning" the runner to return. JEA simply and cleanly instructs to call the runner out. From the applicable Professional Interpretation:

Quote:
When the pitcher assumes his position on the rubber prior to delivery, no runner may return to a previously
occupied base. If he attempts to do so, the umpire shall call "time" and declare him out.
Originally adopted to eliminate a trick play and unorthodox strategy, this rule accomplished its purpose. Such shenanigans are unheard of in the modern game.
Umpires should be alert and declare out any runner who should return to his previous base after the pitcher has
assumed his position on the rubber. This could most logically happen when the runner felt that he "left too soon" on a tag-up and would attempt to return before an appeal was made on him.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1