The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 16, 2004, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 159
If you are going to “quote” the case book, quote it all, because it makes a mess out of this entire discussion:

*8.2.3 SITUATION: B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrives safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, though he believes the runner has beaten the throw. RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on the runner and is the result of continuing action, F3 is not required to appeal the missed base and needs only to complete the force out.

Well now, where did THAT come from? A batter is “forced” at first, and despite the following rule change, this is an out?

Compare and contrast this situation, taken from the NFHS website:

SITUATION 8: With R1 at first, B2 singles to right field. R1 misses second base as he advances safely to third. The throw from the outfield goes to F4, who catches the ball and stumbles on second base, not aware that R1 did not touch the bag. RULING: Until the defense makes a proper intentional appeal, R1 would not be out. Accidental appeals by the defense are not valid. (8-4-2j)

Well, what’s an umpire to do? Here we have 8.2.3 saying that an “accidental” apeeal of a batter “forced” at first is an out, while the same organization posts a situation where a truly forced runner is NOT out on an “accidental appeal”. Interesting, especially in light of the rule change in 2004:

8-4-2j Add to the end of the rule: There shall be no accidental appeals on a force play.

Then we have the following case, again from the book, about two pages past the first case stated:

*8.4.2 SITUATION B: With R1 at first, B2 hits a double into right center, sending Alto third. However, R1 misses second base. F6 is standing on second when he catches the throw from the outfield. He then throws the ball to the pitcher. RULING: Although R1 missed second, no call will be made by the umpire because F6 did not make an intentional appeal of the missed base.

The simple answer is 8.2.3 (the first case) is just WRONG based on the new rule. But it does raise interesting questions about a batter being “forced” at 1B.

And in OBR, the proper mechanic, as has been stated, is that the BR is safe in this case until tagged or properly appealed, not accidentally appealed.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1