The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 31, 2004, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 114
R1 & R3. B1 hits ground ball to F4. R1 runs into F4. Interference is called.

Fed ruling= dead ball, R1 out, R3 stays at 3rd & B1 goes to 1st.

Is the OBR ruling the same?

Are there any codes that would allow R3 to score?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 31, 2004, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
If R1 is interfering with F4 to 'break up the double play', both R1 and BR are called out. R3 remains on 3rd.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 31, 2004, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
It's the same under OBR. R3 would have to return to the last legally touched base, which would be 3rd base. It would be a double play if the interference is intentional. Otherwise we have a dead ball, R1 out, and BR on 1st and R3 on 3rd.

Also, make sure it's actually inteference - unintentional contact to a fielder not in the act of fielding a ball would be obstruction and not interference.

-Jeremiah
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 31, 2004, 06:08pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeremiah
It's the same under OBR. R3 would have to return to the last legally touched base, which would be 3rd base. It would be a double play if the interference is intentional. Otherwise we have a dead ball, R1 out, and BR on 1st and R3 on 3rd.

Also, make sure it's actually inteference - unintentional contact to a fielder not in the act of fielding a ball would be obstruction and not interference.

-Jeremiah
How could this ever be obstruction? Ball was hit to F4, runner runs into F4. Interference. Easy.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 31, 2004, 09:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
J/R manual - pg 119.
(1) Concerning obstruction and a batted ball:

A fielder's "try to field" a batted ball ends immediately upon missing or deflecting the ball, and such fielder must, in effect, disappear or risk obstruction. [2.00]

-Jeremiah

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 01, 2004, 08:38am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,741
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeremiah
J/R manual - pg 119.
(1) Concerning obstruction and a batted ball:

A fielder's "try to field" a batted ball ends immediately upon missing or deflecting the ball, and such fielder must, in effect, disappear or risk obstruction. [2.00]

-Jeremiah

I know what obstruction is. I'm just trying to figure out where it appears in the original play cited. There's nothing to read into it.

Hey, if the batted ball strikes a bird before it gets to F4....

Seriously, interference doesn't necessarily mean that he's catching the ball at that point either. If F4 is coming up to play the ground ball and is run into by R1, it's interference as well.

--Rich
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 01, 2004, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
I agree that if he's coming up to field a ball, he is making a play on the ball. What i'm referring to is after he has had a chance to field the ball. Once he has had a chance to field the ball, he is no longer in the act of fielding a ball and thus liable to obstruct.

-Jeremiah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1