![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I am presuming that Coach D likes the out on R1, and wants his "bonus" out on BR for "passing" R1? The short answer I'd give on how to rule is what you saw is what you got. Long version: If BR is "beyond 1st in foul territory", he did not attempt to go to 2nd; so even if R1 was standing on 1st at the time BR reached the base, BR has not "passed" the preceeding runner. [BTW, it is more likely that BR reached 1st and then R1 returned; thus ~] With 2 runners "at" the same base, neither is out until one of 'em gets tagged [or, in this case, 2ndB is tagged to complete the force on R1 - there was another thread recently which explored some of the permutations of this issue]. Since it does not appear that anybody tagged BR, he is safe at 1st and is entitled to return, which it seems he did. Had BR been tagged [with R1 still standing on 1B], then he would have been out, and the force on R1 removed, so no "bonus out" on R1 for being a knucklehead. Since BR was not tagged and R1 took off [again] for 2nd, he is liable to the fate which, in fact, befell him, and he is out on the tag or force, whichever; BUT no "bonus out" on BR, who is now R1. R3, who apparently was listening to his base coach, did nothing wrong [that we've been told about], so he still scores; 2 outs, next batter please. [Edited by cbfoulds on Jul 27th, 2004 at 02:33 AM] |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|