The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 23, 2004, 03:16pm
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
"SNIP"

There's no practical difference. BR is assumed to touch first when he passes it. The tag results in an out if it's an appeal -- it's the same as the "reinstating the force" example you provide when R1 misses 2nd and is appealed for the out.
------------------------

I just don't see it that way Bob.

I purposely said that in both situations the B/R and runner stopped immediately after failing to touch the base and scrambled back.

With that said, when the runner at first failed to touch the base in passing and was tagged out before his immediate return, it's an appeal play and since there is no force play at first he is out for not TOUCHING the base before he is put out. Since a run cannot score when the B/R is put out before TOUCHING first base, don't score the run.

At second when the runner failed to touch the base in passing and was tagged out on his immediate return he has lifted the force and must be tagged with no appeal allowed, ever, therefore score the run.

Two plays almost exactly the sames but according to the rules one scores and one doesn't. Isn't that difference due to no force play at first. I think it is. Regards G.

[Edited by Gee on Jul 23rd, 2004 at 04:19 PM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1