The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2004, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3
Question

We're trying to get some clarification on Rule 7.14 (the Little League "courtesy runner rule").

Can any player not in the line up at that time be a courtesy runner for another player (not substituting)? Or is it only for a player who has NOT YET BEEN IN THE LINE UP AT ANY TIME TO THAT POINT IN TIME?

We've seen the rule written and explained a couple different ways. The rule seems to be written a little ambigious.

The end of the rule seems to say that this special runner (or any other player) may be a courtesy runner again later in the game, whether they've been in the line up or not to that point, as long as when they are put in as a courtesy runner, that they are not, right then, in the line-up. (This end to the rule implies that, in fact, the rule permits a player NOT THEN IN THE LINE UP to be this kind of runner, and that whether or not the runner has ever been in the line-up or not previsously in the game does not matter.)

So if A and B start the game for the home team and B is substituted for by C on defense in the top of the 3rd inning. Can B run for A in the bottom of the third? What if A bats before B's original place in the order? (This gets to "when is a player 'removed' from the line up?) Can B then go back into the field for C in the top of the 4th? If B does not go back for C in the 4th (and is sitting on the bench), can B then run for D in the bottom of the fourth as a courtesy runner for the second time in the game for a different player? Ok, and the last one: Can B be doing all this courtesy running or not, but at any time run for C on the bases regardless of whether another courtesy runner has been used that inning or not because B, in that case, is a SUBSTITUTE for C, and not a courtesy runner and so not subject to this rule at all?

Anyone have any insight on this? Do the questions even make sense? Thanks.

Irish

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1