View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 13, 2004, 06:48pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by irish
thank you all for your help. it appears that I should be referring to an "SPR" not a "courtesy runner".

in any event, does anyone have any insight as to my scenarios with players A, B, C, and D?

i recently read a past discussion in this forum that stated that my player B could not qualify as an SPR unless he had "not yet been in the lineup". Don't the words of 7.14 say that--although it doesn't make sense read with the last part of 7.14. What version of the rules can I look at? Are there different ones floating around?

anyone want to take a shot at my scenarios and what would be allowed?

we're in the tournament now and are trying to get our arms around using a couple of our quick platooning players in and out of the game.

Thanks again.

Irish
Irish,
As long as the SPR is not scheduled to bat (ie. actually written in the book batting order), a line-up player may not be an SPR.

  • R14 has not batted yet, so R14 may go in for R4 on second.
    --->
    Next inning, R7 hits a double, R14 may take R7's place at 2B.
    --->
    Next 1/2 inning, R14 enters game for R9. (Now R14 may not be an SPR, because R14 is now in the line-up.)
    --->
    Later, R12 enters (or R9 reenters) for R14.
    R12 (or R9) doubles. R14 may again become an SPR.


  • If any kid isn't batting, any kid may be an SPR, but an SPR may be used only once per inning.
    Find a faaaaaaaaa-st kid for your roster.

    mick





    [Edited by mick on Jul 13th, 2004 at 11:46 PM]
  • Reply With Quote