The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 09, 2004, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Your partner was correct. You don't wait until play stops to call a runner passing another. Call the following runner out immediately.

However, are you sure in this case there was actual passing? I haven't thought of the play at 3B before, but at 1B, if Abel is standing on 1B and Baker overruns 1B, I don't believe that Baker is considered to have passed Abel simply for overrunning 1B. Baker has to pass Abel on the basepaths to be out—i.e., take a step left toward 2B.

The play at 3B isn't really the same, since runners cannot overrun when retreating, but did the preceding runner stay in the (extended) baseline, or retreat slightly toward 2B such that the following runner "passed" him?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1