Thread: Abandonment
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 28, 2004, 08:20am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,019
Originally posted by LDUB
I know we have went over things like this before, but I'll ask anyways. I had this come up a few days ago. So, R1, 2 out, 2 strikes. Batter swings at low pitch that is not caught by catcher. F2 picks up ball and is looking to tag B1, but B1 is already about 15 feet away walking towards the 3rd base dugout. So I look at R1 and he is crossing the mound on his way to the dugout. I know when to call the BR out, but how far do you let R1 go before you call him out for abandonment?
According to the rule book (OBR), call it when it's "obvious".

According to Evans, it's not obvious until he crosses the foul line or gets to the dugout (depending on the which runner and whic dugout), iirc.

Reply With Quote