The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2004, 07:13am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
The official scorekeeper may have a record of the previous "non-at-bat" (ie ball-strike count) but it does not count statistically.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2004, 07:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,123
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan
sir_eldren hit the nail on the head:

"Does the AB count as an AB, or is it tossed out when he comes to the plate again to start the new inning? We all know that he gets a fresh count, but what comes of the record of his last AB?"

Still haven't heard anyone give an answer to this.
No one has addressed it because the rules don't cover it -- it doesn't affect the game or any recognized statistics.

you can probably get a number higher that 12 if you include balks, and a rained-out / replayed game where the batter in question is the lead-off batter.

Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 12, 2004, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to Patrick Szalapski
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan
sir_eldren hit the nail on the head:

"Does the AB count as an AB, or is it tossed out when he comes to the plate again to start the new inning? We all know that he gets a fresh count, but what comes of the record of his last AB?"

Still haven't heard anyone give an answer to this.
It's pretty much gone--it is what it is. The rules don't give any thought to whether an at-bat can span innings, etc. I've always seen an incomplete plate appearance as no at-bat, kind of like when a third-inning rainout is "no game" (OBR 4.10)--but again, the rules don't really address this largely rhetorical issue.

For statistical purposes, in the previous innning, any pitches that were thrown count against the pitcher's pitch count, but nothing else would be recorded for the incomplete plate appearance.

P-Sz
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan
What's the most pitches a batter can take without swinging the bat in a single at bat?

I believe the answer is 6. Either 2 balls and 3 strikes, or 3 balls and 2 strikes with the 6th pitch being a strike, a ball, a passed ball or a hit batter.
You know, the batter could just stand there with the bat on his shoulder, and if the pitch hits it and rolls foul you have a foul ball. So he could stand there forever, without ever swinging the bat. He would just foul off every pitch that was thrown at him.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by LDUB
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan
What's the most pitches a batter can take without swinging the bat in a single at bat?

I believe the answer is 6. Either 2 balls and 3 strikes, or 3 balls and 2 strikes with the 6th pitch being a strike, a ball, a passed ball or a hit batter.
You know, the batter could just stand there with the bat on his shoulder, and if the pitch hits it and rolls foul you have a foul ball. So he could stand there forever, without ever swinging the bat. He would just foul off every pitch that was thrown at him.
A foul ball is considered a swing whether the batter swung the bat or not.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan
sir_eldren hit the nail on the head:

"Does the AB count as an AB, or is it tossed out when he comes to the plate again to start the new inning? We all know that he gets a fresh count, but what comes of the record of his last AB?"

Still haven't heard anyone give an answer to this.
No one has addressed it because the rules don't cover it -- it doesn't affect the game or any recognized statistics.

you can probably get a number higher that 12 if you include balks, and a rained-out / replayed game where the batter in question is the lead-off batter.

"a rained-out / replayed game"

How exactly would this situation take place? It's not the same as a rain delay after which the batter gets back the same count?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan
sir_eldren hit the nail on the head:

"Does the AB count as an AB, or is it tossed out when he comes to the plate again to start the new inning? We all know that he gets a fresh count, but what comes of the record of his last AB?"

Still haven't heard anyone give an answer to this.
It's hard to "hear" a printed word.

WE all know that there is only ONE at-bat per trip. If the third out is made on an attempted steal, pickoff, etc. the batter hasn't completed his turn at-bat.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by bluezebra
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan
sir_eldren hit the nail on the head:

"Does the AB count as an AB, or is it tossed out when he comes to the plate again to start the new inning? We all know that he gets a fresh count, but what comes of the record of his last AB?"

Still haven't heard anyone give an answer to this.
It's hard to "hear" a printed word.

WE all know that there is only ONE at-bat per trip. If the third out is made on an attempted steal, pickoff, etc. the batter hasn't completed his turn at-bat.
Yes, the at bat is incomplete in mind as well but would the previous time at the plate still be considered part of the same at bat? It's a hard discussion LOL.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,123
Quote:
Originally posted by baseballfan

"a rained-out / replayed game"

How exactly would this situation take place? It's not the same as a rain delay after which the batter gets back the same count?
Lead off batter in the game takes 5 pitches. It starts to pour. Game called.

Later in the year, game starts over -- same leadoff batter.

Is this "one" at-bat?

There's no right or wrong answer -- it's all mental masturbation.

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 13, 2004, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 114
Not an AB. Does not count for any batter stats.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1