The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 12:17pm
CZ CZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 7
"ORB 7.10(b) would be approprate"

OK

But, ORB 7.10(b) refers to a runner "failing to touch each base in order".

I understand that the runner has missed second base and that 'seems' wrong, but the rule does not say missing a base is bad. It says, "failing to touch the bases in order" is bad. That is very specific phrasing. You can't fail to touch second in order until you reach third or miss it on the way back to first. But the runner has not yet broken 7.10(b) by the wording of the rule. Nor has he acquired second base (at least I can't find where it says that he has).

So on the next pitch, he has only acquired first, and when he runs to third, he is now breaking 7.10(b) and touching bags out of order.

Anyway, not worth a long discussion. Thanks for your input all.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1