The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Apr 28, 2004, 11:38am
Official Forum Member

I think the real fun

would have been that there really was no play, no out, no balk, nothing just a time delay. Without the ball in play how can you decieve a runner into a situation where they are at a disadvantage. I just don't see it as possible. LOL

Not only is the coach dumb for trying the HBT, but he can even do it right. I might warn the coach for time delaying tactics. But other than that I would have to laugh at him, and laugh hard.
Old Fri Apr 30, 2004, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member

Guys, I'm just a youth coach in my 2nd year, so bear with me....
The ball never would have been dead, because the pitcher was on the mound with it when the coach called time... Right?

I'm not aware of any rule in Dixie Youth, which is what I coach, that covers this topic. I would think that once time had resumed, it would be legal, as long as the pitcher wasn't touching the rubber....
Coach Will
Old Fri Apr 30, 2004, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by WillSun
Guys, I'm just a youth coach in my 2nd year, so bear with me....
The ball never would have been dead, because the pitcher was on the mound with it when the coach called time... Right?
Coach Will
The ball is dead when the umpire calls time. It is not live again untill he calls play.
Old Fri Apr 30, 2004, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member

Huh? WILSUN, I'm scratching my head!

"The ball never would have been dead, because the pitcher was on the mound with it when the coach called time... Right?"

If I read your question correctly, "No". The post clearly states that the coach called time, came out to the mound.

"I would think that once time had resumed, it would be legal,"