The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 07:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
"in situation 2, you cannot throw to an unoccupied base, unless you have stepped backward with your pivot foot. Had a kid, set position, runner at 2nd. Runner takes off as pitcher lifts non-pivot. Pitcher hears "runner is going". Steps correctly to third and throws toward 3B. BALK"

I believe you missed what the rest of that rule reads. This is federation rules and I know the other two, (NCAA & OBR) are pretty much the same. Rule 7.2.4 b. "it is a balk: b.failing to step with the non-pivot foor directly toward a base (occupied or unoccupied)when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when it is NOT an attempt to put out or drive back a runner."

Now where you can actually throw to directly from the pitchin plate may vary a little by code. So your statement is only partially correct.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1