The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Apr 09, 2004, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ofishe8r Send a message via Yahoo to ofishe8r
I'm a high school baseball coach and have a rules question about the set position. My pitcher was taking the signal with the ball in his glove and his pitching hand at his side. As he was taking the signal his throwing arm moving in a slight swinging motion (like Pedro Astacio), the plate umpire called a balk, saying that his pitching arm had to remain perfectly still. We challenged the ruling and showed him in the rule book that the arm never had to be completely motionless, just down at the side or behind the back. The slight movement was never deceptive and was a consistent movement. I have never had this called in 25 years of baseball coaching and umpiring. What do you think? Thanks.
Varsity Baseball Coach
Brentwood Brentwood High School

Brentwood Middle School
9127 White Avenue
Brentwood, MO 63144
[email protected]
Old Fri Apr 09, 2004, 09:57pm
Get away from me, Steve.

Quote:
Originally posted by ofishe8r
I'm a high school baseball coach and have a rules question about the set position. My pitcher was taking the signal with the ball in his glove and his pitching hand at his side. As he was taking the signal his throwing arm moving in a slight swinging motion (like Pedro Astacio), the plate umpire called a balk, saying that his pitching arm had to remain perfectly still. We challenged the ruling and showed him in the rule book that the arm never had to be completely motionless, just down at the side or behind the back. The slight movement was never deceptive and was a consistent movement. I have never had this called in 25 years of baseball coaching and umpiring. What do you think? Thanks.
I think the umpire was looking for something that didn't need to be looked at.