The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Mar 09, 2004, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member

I'm now a veteran of a whopping 20 games or so behind the dish. I have made a few adjustments and feel like for the most part I'm seeing the ball pretty well now. I have been told by experienced partners that I'm doing a decent job of keeping my head still and that I don't have any major problems with stance, etc. But I still feel like I'm struggling to be consistent with the low pitch.

Does anyone have any general advice or tips to help me develop more consistency on these? Or do you think I just need to see more pitches?
Old Wed Mar 10, 2004, 01:13am
Official Forum Member

Yeah...good question. I firmly believe in maintaning a firm and consistent stance. I remember Gerry Davis, MLB umpire, saying that people say head height should be at the catchers mask, he said thats the lowest it should be...the focus should be consistency. As far as seeing low pitches, I understand and have been in your shoes, the question is how "low is the pitch?" Knees or ankles or whatever? No matter how good your stance is, a truly low pitch isnt gonna look good...i think anyway. Work on following the ball in with your eyes all the way into the glove, that eliminated all of my problems. I noticed myself giving up on low pitches which were not that bad and second guessing my call, whether i called ball or strike. Followign the ball in all the way, as simple as it sounds, was something I was ignoring and it showed on those close, borderline calls.
Old Wed Mar 10, 2004, 08:52am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by YoungRighty
Does anyone have any general advice or tips to help me develop more consistency on these? Or do you think I just need to see more pitches?
Try some combination of: