The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2003, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
I hesitate bringing this question to the board. But I think it serves for brushing up on some situations we don't run into all that often. The Cubs game 6 NLCS, 8th inning ,1 out, fly ball hit into left field foul territory, barely into the stands. The left fielder attempts to catch the ball. A fan makes contact with ball before the fielder and spoils the catch attempt. As best as I can tell from replays, the fan contact occurred in the stands, The umps ruled no interference (correctly,IMO. No, I am NOT a Marlins fan).

In my reading of OBR and MLBR, The only penalty for Spectator Interference is a dead ball. No one is called out.

In this instance then, had there been spectator interference called, the only thing that would have happened is that the play would be dead, and no catch possible. The same result as what happened. The ball is dead(foul ball) and no catch. The only way an out would have occurred is if Alou (F7) had caught the ball.

Is this Correct, or am I missing something?

Don
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1