The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2017, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 47
Foul Tip Fundamentals

So i got my handy dandy 2018 Preseason Guide for NFHS baseball and i had a question regarding foul tip.

The guide states in a OP:
With a 1-1 count, the batter swings at a pitch, which is tipped and goes directly to the catcher's glove and then rebounds to the catchers chest protector. The catcher secures the ball with his bare hand and makes a legal catch. Ruling1: This is a foul tip, so long as the ball first went directly to the catchers glove.

My question is "this is a foul tip, so long as the ball first went directly to the catchers glove"

So what about a foul tip that goes directly to the catchers glove, rebounds off his helmet and goes straight up in the air... and the catcher looks up and catches it. I have had this happen multiple times.... Would this be a foul tip and subject to "Strike 3 batter is out" ???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2017, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
So i got my handy dandy 2018 Preseason Guide for NFHS baseball and i had a question regarding foul tip.

The guide states in a OP:
With a 1-1 count, the batter swings at a pitch, which is tipped and goes directly to the catcher's glove and then rebounds to the catchers chest protector. The catcher secures the ball with his bare hand and makes a legal catch. Ruling1: This is a foul tip, so long as the ball first went directly to the catchers glove.

My question is "this is a foul tip, so long as the ball first went directly to the catchers glove"

So what about a foul tip that goes directly to the catchers glove, rebounds off his helmet and goes straight up in the air... and the catcher looks up and catches it. I have had this happen multiple times.... Would this be a foul tip and subject to "Strike 3 batter is out" ???
Did it go directly to the hand or glove? Was it legally caught? Is this the requirement?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 13, 2017, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 47
Requirement

I am no "Tenured" official, but i have been reading for nearly 40 years, lol. From the wording, it states..

2-16-2 A foul tip is a batted ball that goes directly to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught by the catcher. It shall be called a strike and the ball is in play.


So to me..... a tip that first goes to the hand/glove of a catcher, can be juggled and bumped up and everything as long as it gets legally caught.


So with all that, as long as the first contact is with the hand/glove from the foul tip, it would be (to me) a strike 3 call if the catcher ends up legally catching the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2017, 12:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by BSBAL18 View Post
I am no "Tenured" official, but i have been reading for nearly 40 years, lol. From the wording, it states..

2-16-2 A foul tip is a batted ball that goes directly to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught by the catcher. It shall be called a strike and the ball is in play.


So to me..... a tip that first goes to the hand/glove of a catcher, can be juggled and bumped up and everything as long as it gets legally caught.


So with all that, as long as the first contact is with the hand/glove from the foul tip > batted ball , it would be (to me) a strike 3 > whatever it is call if the catcher ends up legally catching the ball.
Slight mod to your answer but you have basically figured it out. It's not a foul tip until it is legally caught and it's strike whatever it is.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 14, 2017, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 159
I think people get hung up on "directly". This is in the rule to separate the foul tip from the pop-up. A pop up does not have any restriction on the glove being the first touch. On a pop-up, F2 can start by heading the ball back into the air like a soccer player and it would be ruled a catch when he finally controlled the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 27, 2017, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
I think people get hung up on "directly". This is in the rule to separate the foul tip from the pop-up. A pop up does not have any restriction on the glove being the first touch. On a pop-up, F2 can start by heading the ball back into the air like a soccer player and it would be ruled a catch when he finally controlled the ball.
And, the pop-up in foul territory is an out when caught, whereas the foul tip is a live-ball strike.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: NCAA D1 postseason/ISF Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity
2016 Game Counts -- Travel Ball: 57 | Juco: 32 | HS: 14 | NAIA: 10 | NCAA: 5 | NCAA Fall Ball: 12 | Camp: 5 | Three-man: 30 | EJ's: 1

2017 Game Counts -- Travel Ball: 37 | Juco: 39 | HS: 18 | NCAA: 2 | Fall Ball: 16 | Camp: 4 | Three-man: 31 | EJ's: 1
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 11, 2017, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
I think people get hung up on "directly". This is in the rule to separate the foul tip from the pop-up. A pop up does not have any restriction on the glove being the first touch. On a pop-up, F2 can start by heading the ball back into the air like a soccer player and it would be ruled a catch when he finally controlled the ball.
The ball becomes dead and is a foul ball (can't be caught, can't be a third strike) if it goes straight from the bat to the catcher or his equipment without first touching his hand or glove.

Last edited by Middleman; Mon Dec 11, 2017 at 02:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 11, 2017, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by john5396 View Post
I think people get hung up on "directly". This is in the rule to separate the foul tip from the pop-up. A pop up does not have any restriction on the glove being the first touch. On a pop-up, F2 can start by heading the ball back into the air like a soccer player and it would be ruled a catch when he finally controlled the ball.
No. Once it touched the catcher (other than glove/hand first) it's dead and a foul ball. That's what the rule means when it says it's not a catch if it's a rebound.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fundamentals tref Basketball 10 Sat Apr 14, 2012 04:02am
Fundamentals discrepancy? sseltser Basketball 13 Fri Jun 05, 2009 04:42am
Never Forget the Fundamentals OverAndBack Football 11 Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:43pm
Basketball rules fundamentals ABO77 Basketball 13 Fri Dec 28, 2007 04:13am
The Fundamentals of Two-Person Mechanics brandan89 Basketball 3 Wed Dec 29, 2004 01:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1