The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2017, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Boo

B5 bats out of order, should be B4. Then after B4 bats and gets a hit the mistake is recognized. Who is the next batter? Is B4 out? Does B5 go back to first base? B5 got walked.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2017, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
B5 bats out of order, should be B4. Then after B4 bats and gets a hit the mistake is recognized. Who is the next batter? Is B4 out? Does B5 go back to first base? B5 got walked.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The instant B4 took a pitch, B5's at bat became legitimized. At this moment ... B6 is the correct batter. If the mistake is recognized right after B4 got a hit when B6 should have been batting (and before another pitch is thrown), then B6 is out B4 is removed from the basepaths, B5 goes back to first, and B7 is the next batter.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2017, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
B5 bats out of order, should be B4. Then after B4 bats and gets a hit the mistake is recognized. Who is the next batter? Is B4 out? Does B5 go back to first base? B5 got walked.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not sure what rule set, so the following is HS/FED:

The key principle is punish the guy who SHOULD have been there, not the guy who WAS there. But a pitch or play makes it 'ok' and resets things.

So let's break down your situation. B5 is BOO...if discovered before a pitch to B4, then it would be B4 out - he's the one that SHOULD have been there.

But alas, that didn't happen. So the first pitch to B4 made B5 legal and removed the BOO. Now, the proper batter is whoever is after B5 (namely, B6). But B4 is there. Don't worry about B5, he's legal now. The situation is that B6 should have been there but B4 is.

Let's assume no play or pitch is made when this 2nd BOO situation is discovered. B6 is the guy who SHOULD have been there, so it's actually B6 that's out. B5 - the legal guy on base - is returned to 1B. If he had been thrown at 2B, that out would have stood AND B6 would be out, as any out made during the play would still stand - it's a very draconian penalty if discovered in time. Now, the proper batter after B6 is out is B7.

So, the outcome is the proper batter is out, pick up the order from the next proper batter after that, return runners to time of pitch (unless they were put out during the offending action), move on with the game.

Finally, let's say B4 got that hit and then a pitch was made to B6. Or an attempted pickoff of B4 at 1B. Now, everyone's legal and there's nothing to be done. Life goes on.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2017, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Let's say B4 struck out. Is B6 still out? Would here be 2 outs with B7 up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2017, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
Let's say B4 struck out. Is B6 still out? Would here be 2 outs with B7 up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
One out. B6. B4's AB officially didn't happen.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 29, 2017, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 401
Send a message via Yahoo to yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
One out. B6. B4's AB officially didn't happen.


Who would be up at that point?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 30, 2017, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
Who would be up at that point?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
After B6 is out, then B7 is the next batter.

It's called "BOO," but it should be "BTSTBWIYT" -- Being Too Stupid To Bat When It's Your Turn.

That will help you remember who is out, and, thus, the correct order.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 30, 2017, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern West Virginia
Posts: 146
+2
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 10, 2017, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by yankeesfan View Post
Let's say B4 struck out. Is B6 still out? Would here be 2 outs with B7 up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
This depends on what the defense does. If B4 strikes out and they don't appeal, B4 is out and B6 is up (skip B5 because he's on base[*]). If B4 strikes out and they appeal, then B6 is out and B7 is up.

[*] Check this with your local baseball rules code, that's the rule for the slightly larger yellow ball (my sport), the rules here don't generally differ much.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1