The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Boo (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/102492-boo.html)

yankeesfan Wed Mar 29, 2017 09:59am

Boo
 
B5 bats out of order, should be B4. Then after B4 bats and gets a hit the mistake is recognized. Who is the next batter? Is B4 out? Does B5 go back to first base? B5 got walked.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MD Longhorn Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 1003783)
B5 bats out of order, should be B4. Then after B4 bats and gets a hit the mistake is recognized. Who is the next batter? Is B4 out? Does B5 go back to first base? B5 got walked.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The instant B4 took a pitch, B5's at bat became legitimized. At this moment ... B6 is the correct batter. If the mistake is recognized right after B4 got a hit when B6 should have been batting (and before another pitch is thrown), then B6 is out B4 is removed from the basepaths, B5 goes back to first, and B7 is the next batter.

scrounge Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 1003783)
B5 bats out of order, should be B4. Then after B4 bats and gets a hit the mistake is recognized. Who is the next batter? Is B4 out? Does B5 go back to first base? B5 got walked.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not sure what rule set, so the following is HS/FED:

The key principle is punish the guy who SHOULD have been there, not the guy who WAS there. But a pitch or play makes it 'ok' and resets things.

So let's break down your situation. B5 is BOO...if discovered before a pitch to B4, then it would be B4 out - he's the one that SHOULD have been there.

But alas, that didn't happen. So the first pitch to B4 made B5 legal and removed the BOO. Now, the proper batter is whoever is after B5 (namely, B6). But B4 is there. Don't worry about B5, he's legal now. The situation is that B6 should have been there but B4 is.

Let's assume no play or pitch is made when this 2nd BOO situation is discovered. B6 is the guy who SHOULD have been there, so it's actually B6 that's out. B5 - the legal guy on base - is returned to 1B. If he had been thrown at 2B, that out would have stood AND B6 would be out, as any out made during the play would still stand - it's a very draconian penalty if discovered in time. Now, the proper batter after B6 is out is B7.

So, the outcome is the proper batter is out, pick up the order from the next proper batter after that, return runners to time of pitch (unless they were put out during the offending action), move on with the game.

Finally, let's say B4 got that hit and then a pitch was made to B6. Or an attempted pickoff of B4 at 1B. Now, everyone's legal and there's nothing to be done. Life goes on.

yankeesfan Wed Mar 29, 2017 03:33pm

Let's say B4 struck out. Is B6 still out? Would here be 2 outs with B7 up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rich Ives Wed Mar 29, 2017 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 1003814)
Let's say B4 struck out. Is B6 still out? Would here be 2 outs with B7 up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

One out. B6. B4's AB officially didn't happen.

yankeesfan Wed Mar 29, 2017 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 1003815)
One out. B6. B4's AB officially didn't happen.



Who would be up at that point?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bob jenkins Thu Mar 30, 2017 07:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 1003816)
Who would be up at that point?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

After B6 is out, then B7 is the next batter.

It's called "BOO," but it should be "BTSTBWIYT" -- Being Too Stupid To Bat When It's Your Turn.

That will help you remember who is out, and, thus, the correct order.

bigda65 Thu Mar 30, 2017 02:53pm

+2

youngump Mon Apr 10, 2017 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan (Post 1003814)
Let's say B4 struck out. Is B6 still out? Would here be 2 outs with B7 up?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

This depends on what the defense does. If B4 strikes out and they don't appeal, B4 is out and B6 is up (skip B5 because he's on base[*]). If B4 strikes out and they appeal, then B6 is out and B7 is up.

[*] Check this with your local baseball rules code, that's the rule for the slightly larger yellow ball (my sport), the rules here don't generally differ much.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1