The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   MLB screw up (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/101526-mlb-screw-up.html)

shipwreck Mon Aug 01, 2016 04:27am

Regardless of the position of his feet, THAT is a foul ball.

Altor Mon Aug 01, 2016 06:30am

You can't possibly know that from the pictures posted in this thread.

umpjim Mon Aug 01, 2016 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 989507)
MLB (and NCAA) does NOT have the "once called foul it must remain foul" rule like FED does (that is, they have instances where there this is NOT true). Beyond that, we'd need a better description or video.

The pop up was in the infield. Couldn't be changed in FED no matter what. Couldn't be changed in NCAA I think by rule. Couldn't be replay reviewed in OBR. Did not meet the only MLB criteria I know of (no one reacted to the foul call). But it was the perfect circumstance where 8.02(c)/9.02(c) could be used to change the call and nobody argued. Yost accepted the explanation that I assume was made. PU was blocked and had a bad angle. He knew he had a bad angle and confered. U3 with a good angle gave his opinion and the crew decided this was an instance where they could change the call as Moreland was already on 1B when the ball fell in the infield.

bob jenkins Mon Aug 01, 2016 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjim (Post 989538)
The pop up was in the infield. Couldn't be changed in FED no matter what. Couldn't be changed in NCAA I think by rule.

Agreed, for this play. My first post was just a general statement of the rules -- I had no idea what the specific play was or how they corrected it.

MD Longhorn Tue Aug 02, 2016 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by shipwreck (Post 989504)
Ranger player hits a pop up 12" foul

Clearly this pop up was not twelve inches foul.... even on the bad angles.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1