The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 14, 2003, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally posted by David Emerling
Strict OBR:

A runner misses home, enters the dugout, then immediately comes back out onto the field and retouches.

Subsequently, the defense appeals that the runner missed home.

Ruling?

The PBUC ruling Warren quoted has been trumped (at least for major league baseball) by this approved ruling in the MLB Umpire Manual:

Section 5.4 APPEAL PLAYS: APPROVED RULINGS
...
(11) May a runner who has missed a base return to retouch the missed base after having entered the dugout?

Answer: No.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1