![]() |
|
|
|||
What's the ruling?
2-2 game bottom of the 7th. Fed Rules. R2 is stealing third and slides head first into 3rd base. Catcher's throw hit's the runners helmet as the bill of the runners helmet simultaneously hits the base. The helmet goes flying and comes to rest over the ball. R2 reaches home safely.
Does the run score or is the ball dead? Would appreciate rule citation for opinion. Thanks for considering. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
There is a rule site that would be SLIGHTLY different. Given that the helmet is on top of the ball - if the defender couldn't find it, an umpire might rule this a blocked ball. Of course ... the result is the same, run still scores.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
A blocked ball? In baseball?
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
If I judged the runner was attempting to advance home before the ball became unplayable, he scores on a one-base award beyond his last legally acquired base. If I judge the runner was attempting to advance only after the ball became unplayable, then he stays at 3B. CB 8.3.3 A and B deal with the ball becoming unplayable in a runner's uniform, but I have no problem stretching B and either moving the runner up or keeping him at 3B based on what I judge he was attempting to do when the ball became dead. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
No.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
I wasn't there. I just visualized the ball somehow ending up under the helmet and the fielder not knowing where it was. I pictured the fielder frantically looking around for the ball while the base coach was yelling at his runner, having just had his "bell rung" and also oblivious to the location of the ball.
umpjim couldn't find a cite, so I offered what I found. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ruling | bkdow | Football | 5 | Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:26am |
What's the Ruling? | vcblue | Softball | 7 | Thu May 21, 2009 10:19pm |
Ruling??? | nelson_28602 | Football | 16 | Fri Oct 14, 2005 04:54pm |
OBR Ruling | Dentonump | Baseball | 11 | Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:16pm |
A Ruling, Please? | JJ | Baseball | 10 | Fri Jun 04, 2004 01:27pm |