The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 07, 2011, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
AP or OOB

From a pick-up game:

A1 and B1 are going after a loose ball. Both players have their hands on the ball,but you have not yet decided it warrants a held ball call. A1 steps on the line. OOB to B (as A1 caused the ball to be OOB) or AP (b/c there was joint possession at the time the ball attained OOB status).

Does rule set matter?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 07, 2011, 11:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
If either player is OOB, it's a violation, not a held ball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 12:31am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
I had a play almost like this...

A1 and B1 are going for a rebound. Both players jump, catch the ball, and both players land out of bounds at the same time. Had to think about it for a split second, but went to the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 03:30am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
From a pick-up game:

A1 and B1 are going after a loose ball. Both players have their hands on the ball,but you have not yet decided it warrants a held ball call. A1 steps on the line. OOB to B (as A1 caused the ball to be OOB) or AP (b/c there was joint possession at the time the ball attained OOB status).

Does rule set matter?
No, the rule set doesn't matter.

The OOB "power" doesn't transfer from A1 to the ball and then to B1.

Where I get this play often is after a shot attempt and the rebound goes towards the end line. A4 and B4 both go for the ball and I'd say a dozen times per year, one of the players touches the end line or beyond while touching the ball in an attempt to gain full control - all the while their opponent is doing the same thing, but inbounds.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
No, the rule set doesn't matter.

The OOB "power" doesn't transfer from A1 to the ball and then to B1.

Where I get this play often is after a shot attempt and the rebound goes towards the end line. A4 and B4 both go for the ball and I'd say a dozen times per year, one of the players touches the end line or beyond while touching the ball in an attempt to gain full control - all the while their opponent is doing the same thing, but inbounds.
You should know that the rule set matters.

Fiba rules:
Quote:
23.2.3 If a player moves to out-of-bounds or to his backcourt during a held ball, a jump ball situation occurs.
What they mean for "during" is precisely the situation you are describing.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 05:22pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Yes, eg-i, you're right.

But when answering these guys, I assume these guys don't want a FIBA ruling. LOL
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Yes, eg-i, you're right.

But when answering these guys, I assume these guys don't want a FIBA ruling. LOL
They don't know what they're missing.

Ciao
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 06:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Yes, eg-i, you're right.

But when answering these guys, I assume these guys don't want a FIBA ruling. LOL
How can he be right? He said "during a held ball". The situation that you described occurred before a held ball("while touching the ball in an attempt to gain full control"...in your words) . They're completely different situations, aren't they?

Pizza and lasagna...

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Mar 08, 2011 at 06:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2011, 08:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Nothing happens during a held ball. When a held ball happens, the ball is dead.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1