The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 11, 2002, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Last year, I was the trail official working two man in a game that was near half-time when this play occurred in this order:

A1 was driving to the basket for a layup, guarded by B1. A1 starts the motion to shoot the ball.
B1 hacks A1.
Lead official blows whistle and indicates a foul.
A1 continues motion toward shot.
Horn blows - indicating the quarter is over.
A1 releases ball.
Ball goes through the hoop.

The whistle was clearly before the horn. The horn was clearly before the shot release. What is the correct call?


What we did is this:

Called foul on B1.
Did not count basket (because release was after the horn).
Cleared lane and put A1 on the line to shoot 2.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1