![]() |
|
|
|||
What'cha got on this?
Youtube video I just came across:
YouTube - Technical & Unsportsmanlike Foul As you can see, Head Coach already given a technical foul just before the shooting foul. What would you do in this situation? I don't know what happened after this, the video just cuts off right when the players fall down. So, What'cha got? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
If the basket misses, it only matters in the first scenario, with the coach being of the defensive team. In that case, the shooter gets three shots instead of two.
Since the shot wasn't taken, technically, in the 2nd scenario, it doesn't matter. The "shooter's" team still gets two free throws for the technical foul. The player technical in the 2nd scenario would simply be intentional, IMO. Also, another difference in the two scenarios: offensive coach means it's an intentional technical (or flagrant technical if you desire), because the ball is dead. Defensive coach means it's a personal foul, which means the fouled player has to take the FTs (but means he will either get the 3 points or an additional FT). The inbounds spot is also affected.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Other than that, I do agree with you on the rest. Thanks for your insights Snaqwells! |
|
||||
Quote:
Yes, taking away the coach T, this foul is an easy intentional (due to excessive contact), which is why I said it should be ruled as such even if the coach is the coach of team B (the defender). If he's Coach B, the ball is live until the shot goes in or misses; that's why the foul is personal rather than technical. If he's Coach A (offense), the ball is dead immediately, making the player foul a technical.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
FIBA clip so here are the fiba rules.
Type C technical foul on the coach The contact foul is an "unsporting foul" ( much like North America's " Intentional" foul). That is the signal the official is giving. Both arms overhead, one hand grasping the other wrist. Foul penalties are enforced in the order they occur. That being said, fouls of equal penalty cancel out and you got POI. |
|
|||
Quote:
99.99999999999% correct. There is no POI (defined) under FIBA rules. When penalties of equal weight occur and you can start cancelling penalties (i.e. Coach A T - Team B Unsportsmanlike = 0) the correct resumption of play in this case is AP. In the case where there is Team Control and a double foul or offsetting technicals occurs the ball goes back to the team that was in control when the foul occured. Double foul where there is a basket scored. The team that was scored on gets the ball OOB for the throw in. Last edited by Ref_in_Alberta; Thu Dec 17, 2009 at 06:20pm. Reason: bad gammer |
|
|||
Quote:
In this case the ball leaves the shooter's hands after the official whistled for the T on the coach. So, strictly speaking, the basket should not be counted. The player's foul is an easy U (it does not matter whether the ball is dead or alive); since the act of shooting began before the ball became dead for the technical foul, the penalty is three FT and possession of the ball at the division line, since the shooter was in the three point area. If the coach is of the blue team, two FT for any player of the white team, three FT for the player who was fouled and ball at the division line for the white team. If the coach is of the white team the penalties do not cancel: so two FT for any player of the blue team, three FT for the player who was fouled and ball at the division line for the white team. By rule, the possession for the blue team is lost, since another penalty must be administered. Assuming that the shooter was in the two point area, there would be no AP either; the two penalties would cancel, but at the moment of the first infraction the ball was in possession of the white team, so the play would resume with a throw-in for the white team. Article 12.3 states that there is a jump ball situation when "After the cancellation of equal penalties against both teams, there are no other foul penalties remaining for administration and neither team had control of the ball nor was entitled to the ball before the first foul or violation." However, the official shouldn't have called a technical on the coach while a player was in the act of shooting. Follow the play, which is more important, the technical can come after the shoot. Ciao |
|
|||
Quote:
Hmmm...interesting. |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
I disagree with who you say will take the 2FTs for the intentional technical if he is the offensive coach. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|