The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2002, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to B-Real1
I have always assumed that catching your own "airball" shot was a travelling violation. At least it was always called on the playground that way. Last week, in a rec league game, that situation happened, and one ref(the rookie of the crew) called travelling. But then one of the other refs said that as long as the player was attempting a shot, he was able to catch it, without it touching the rim, backboard or other player. I asked the ref after the game if that was a new rule and he said it wasn't. Did he make the correct call? NBA rules claim it is travelling. Do the high school rules differ in this case? Also, is there anywhere on the net to actually read the OFFICIAL HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL RULEBOOK? I've searched high and low to no avail. This situation occurred again last night on the playground and I almost got laughed off the court when I tried to claim it wasn't travelling.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1