The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
on technical foul situations, 2 shots, player a1 comes to shoot. he misses, coach says, a2 you shoot the next. my partner says no. i told him i would take full responsibility for the situation because the rule book says any player can shoot the freethrows, and does not state against seperate shooters. any thoughts on this play.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 12:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 185
Not only can the technicals be shot by different players, but a substitute can enter the game and shoot one or both.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 451
i was thinking the same thing.
__________________
tony
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 09, 2001, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Correct

Casebook
8.2B
Play:A1 is unable to attempt either of the two free throws awarded because A1 was injured during the play. A6 enters to replace A1 and attempts the first free throw. A7 reports and enters to replace A6.
Ruling: A7 must return to the bench and A6 remains in the game to attempt the second free throw. Since A6 replaced A1, A6 must shoot both free throws, unless A6 is injured or disqualified before attempting the second free throw.

If this situation involved technical foul free throws, A7 would be allowed to enter and attempt the second free throw. (8-3)

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 555
Send a message via ICQ to bigwhistle
Regarding who shoots the T, make sure that if there were any substitutions BEFORE the T was shot, that you know which players had been substituted out of the game. They are NOT eligible to shoot the technical fouls.

This can be hard to determine if the T is called during a time-out, where there were subs at the table when the time-out was granted. (I.e., Team A has 2 subs at table when time out is granted. During the time out, Team B gets charged with a T)

Before you allow Team A to shoot the shots for the T, you need to find out from the Team A coach which players were subbed out. Anyone else can shoot the shots. Those players which had left the game can't return until time has run off of the clock....therefore, are unable to shoot (even if they are the team's best free throw shooter).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 06:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 252
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by bigwhistle
... Those players which had left the game can't return until time has run off of the clock....therefore, are unable to shoot (even if they are the team's best free throw shooter).
I want to check my book on this one. I thought this restriction only applied to players directed to leave the game. Rule reference suggestions anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 185
Technical fouls may be attempted by any player including eligible substitutes (I think that is how it is worded in the rule book). If there is a T and a sub has reported and is waiting to be called in before we shoot, I am bringing him/her in and that person can then shoot the T. If before we are ready to shoot the second T there is another sub at the table checked in and rready to enter, I am bringing that sub in and he/she can shoot the second T. I am not saying that I like it but that is my interpretation of what an "eligible" substitute is.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally posted by paulis
... but that is my interpretation of what an "eligible" substitute is.
I think the point is a player who leaves the game to allow a substitute to enter can/cannot return to shoot one of the freebies of the T (based on the fact that the clock has not yet properly run).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 10, 2001, 08:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by Richard Ogg
Quote:
Originally posted by bigwhistle
... Those players which had left the game can't return until time has run off of the clock....therefore, are unable to shoot (even if they are the team's best free throw shooter).
I want to check my book on this one. I thought this restriction only applied to players directed to leave the game. Rule reference suggestions anyone?
No - this is for all players. NF 3-3-4:

"A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave . . . shall not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement."
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1