![]() |
|
|||
Illegal Use of the Hands
This seems to come up every year, and it never seems to be resolved. We argue every year on whether this is a foul.
Tight-end A80 is dragging across the field behind the defense as A7 drops back to pass. B51, seeing A80 dragging, hits A80 and knocks him down. After A80 is knocked down, A7 throws an incomplete pass at A80. The question is the contact by B51 an illegal use of the hands. Rule 9.2.3d says that a "defensive player shall not d. Contact an eligible receiver who is no longer a potential blocker." I think in this case it is obvious that A80 is on a pass route, and that the contact by B51 is illegal use of the hands. Others argue that if the hit was legal (i.e. in the front and not flagrant or punishing), then it is not a foul. How do you interpret the "no longer a potential blocker" phrase? Note: NFHS rule listed (9.2.3) Last edited by Suudy; Thu Aug 31, 2006 at 05:34pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
DPI or Illegal use of the hands? | Suudy | Football | 4 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 07:08am |
Illegal Use of the Hands | Suudy | Football | 16 | Sat Oct 01, 2005 01:00pm |
illegal hands to the face | cippy | Football | 1 | Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:57am |
Illegal use of hands or nothing? | Newbie Scott | Football | 3 | Thu Sep 04, 2003 05:25pm |
illegal hands and possession | pitlord | Football | 5 | Tue Oct 22, 2002 09:55pm |