The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2005, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Girls 8th Grade Playoff game. Player attempts second FT, ball hits rim, bounces straight up, high over rim, grazes overhead guy wire (used for raising the basket to ceiling when not in use), and goes in. I believe this is OOB by rule, but as the ball just barely grazed the wire (did not appear to alter flight of ball), and the wire was drooping down from its normal position, the ref allowed the point ( I asked him after the game, he remembered the play, and mentioned that the ball just barely touched the wire, and the wire shouldn't have been there).

Would any of you have done the same? Would the level of the game make a difference?

Just curious. It would seem like a petty call in relation to how other calls are made, but OOB is OOB.

Of course, the game ended in a one-point win for the team that made the FT, or no one would have even remembered the FT.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1