View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2005, 11:59am
Jimgolf Jimgolf is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Girls 8th Grade Playoff game. Player attempts second FT, ball hits rim, bounces straight up, high over rim, grazes overhead guy wire (used for raising the basket to ceiling when not in use), and goes in. I believe this is OOB by rule, but as the ball just barely grazed the wire (did not appear to alter flight of ball), and the wire was drooping down from its normal position, the ref allowed the point ( I asked him after the game, he remembered the play, and mentioned that the ball just barely touched the wire, and the wire shouldn't have been there).

Would any of you have done the same? Would the level of the game make a difference?

Just curious. It would seem like a petty call in relation to how other calls are made, but OOB is OOB.

Of course, the game ended in a one-point win for the team that made the FT, or no one would have even remembered the FT.
Reply With Quote