![]() |
|
|||
Ok kids here we go.... Discussion at our association meeting tonite... A1 brings the ball up the court throws a long pass (from the back court) , intended for A2. A pass that is gonna be close to an alley oop. A2 misses the ball it hits the back board and bounces back to A1 who is the first to touch it in the back court. Do we have a violation?
|
|
|||
Quote:
The debate hinges on this being or not being a try. I'd say it's not, so a backcourt violation would occur. 4.4.4 is the closest caseplay I've found and that deals with the ball striking an official and going back to the player, and an official...like the backboard...is part of the floor. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
ok this is going where I expected
ok, this is pretty much the debate we had at our meeting. All of the above are good points and at one time or another, I have agreed with all of them. I personally would tend to argue JR's point a little stronger than the rest. Here is another point I think should be brought up and see what effect it has on the discussion.
There has been lots of discussion before about "passing" the ball to yourself off of your own backboard. If you hold to the theory that it is legal to end your dribble in the front court, throw it off of your backboard catch it and then continue the dribble, then I ask this. If I remember correctly the theory was that, this is legal based on the fact that player and team control end during a try, and if it hits the glass it "is" a try. If my recollection is correct, and I am sure I will be corrected if it isn't, then, isn't this the same situation just from a different area of the court? ok continue as you were LOL ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
That could be our ruling, but does that consider a loss of team control which would result from a "try"? |
|
|||
Quote:
[Edited by blindzebra on Jan 12th, 2005 at 12:52 AM] |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|