![]() |
|
|||
Possible dropped 3rd strike mechanics
Same C ball weekend. I'm working with a new ump. He's plate. 2 outs. Runner on 3rd. Batter swings at a ball that bounces in the dirt into the catchers glove. Plate says strike three (not an out call). Batter walks toward dugout, not attempting to go to first. Offensive coach says he thinks there's only 2 strikes. Partner asks me. I say I only have 2. I come to him (watching BR who is still standing close to out of play). He asks what to do and I say you need to ask both coaches. One coach has 3. One has 2. They continue to talk on the field with BR still very close to out of play. After a moment he declares "that was strike 3". BR then walks into dugout. 3rd out recorded. Inning over.
My thoughts were... -No time was ever called. Correct? We had to give the BR and the runner at 3rd a chance to advance if it was strike 3. With plate ump and both coaches on the field, what could have happened if BR did go to 1st or if runner on 3rd broke for home? Potential coaches interference somewhere? There was no complaints from the offensive side, but I wondered about the mechanics. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
I guess there could have been CI, if they hindered a play. Mechanics: 1 -keep coaches in dugout or at least out of the way 2 - count is up to you 2, not the coaches if they disagree. It's late, so let me know if there are any trees in that forest.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Fri Oct 20, 2017 at 10:57am. |
|
|||
And sometimes there's just an "assumed" time out. As in "official's time out". If both coaches and the umpires are conversing about a play or ruling or rule and there wasn't a "signaled" time out, they just starting their discussion inho you'd have to be pretty much on bad ground if someone on the bases advanced and scored while you were in a discussion. I'm simply saying "NO", we had time go back. Don't think an arguement is going to fly here. Again imho!
__________________
Wish I'da umped before I played. What a difference it would'a made! ![]() |
|
|||
As has been stated...once your partner came to you for help on the count, TIME is assumed and play is suspended.
Had you both conferred and agreed that it was strike 3, you do your best to reconstruct what you think would have happened and place runners accordingly. From your description, it seems as if the batter-runner was heading into the dugout and the runner on third wasn't trying to advance. Let the play stand and change sides.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Swinging Strike + Hit Batter + Dropped 3rd Strike | bfoster | Baseball | 19 | Sun May 17, 2009 08:30pm |
Dropped Third Strike | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 1 | Tue Apr 26, 2005 04:21pm |
Dropped 3rd Strike | Dean Strong | Baseball | 15 | Sun Oct 03, 2004 03:57pm |
Dropped Third Strike | mckinnishk | Baseball | 3 | Sat Jul 31, 2004 09:22am |
dropped 3rd strike mechanics | YoungRighty | Baseball | 19 | Thu Sep 25, 2003 02:50am |