![]() |
|
|
|||
Is this a do over?
Team A scores and is down by 1 point at the end of the game. Team B calls time with 3 secs on the clock. The ball is inbounded in the backcourt but the timer fails to start the clock. Team B coach is screaming that the clock did not start. The officials blow it dead. The trail tells the new lead that he reached two on his backcourt count before the whistle blew everything dead. They decide to replay the throw in with 3 seconds on the clock. Is this the correct way to handle this? Could they have used the trail's count and put one second on the clock and inbound where the POI was on the whistle?
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
You don't have a "backcourt" count, but you should have a count -- as should all officials near the end of every period.
|
|
|||
So what would you do in that situation? A count like during a free throw. Just checking to see what would need to be done to have "definite knowledge".
|
|
|||
I would count the same as closely-guarded. I would want it to be as visible as possible on any video.
|
|
|||
If there were only 3 seconds and you're already at 2, I would say it's better to wait one more second and say game over than to blow it dead at this point.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
6.4.5 Situation B: During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball. RULING: Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A's ball for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-42-5). |
|
|||
If you knew you (or your partners) had a count going, would you even blow this play dead?
Team B has now been put at a disadvantage, forced to execute another throw-in, presumably still in its backcourt. Just count it out, and when you don't hear a horn after your 3 seconds are up, blow the whistle and the game is over. Sure, Team B coach has another second or two of exasperated yelling, but when he realizes he's won, that'll dissipate rather quickly. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|