Thread: T's
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2001, 10:43am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Re: Just let 'em play!

Guys,

Some of you are confusing two different issues and rules.

mick,

Players can't play with the same numbers. Hopefully, if 5 players wearing #2 or # 4 or #22 walked onto the floor you would make them change before you started play.

Players can't change their numbers without reporting to the scorer. If a player is forced to change a jersey because of a torn shirt or blood, there is no T. If the wrong number is in the book, there is only one T called no matter how many times it happens. (10-1-2) If he changes to deceive, then we have a player T under 10-3-1. This completely different sitch.

Quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson

On a whole different tangent these rules do become intertwined and a problem in regard to player numbers. If A comes in wearing 3 and he should have been 1, and the coach tells us his lineup was wrong change the book we will hit the player with a T (10-3-1) and the team with a T (10-2-2-c). If later on another player comes in wearing the wrong number and we have to change the book, we just hit the player because the maximum 1 team T had been assessed.

Or worse, A1 comes in and play starts. During the first dead ball the scorer calls us over and tells us there is no A1 in the book. It is too late to T the player, but we can still hit the team with the T (as long as a team T had not been given earlier for the 10-2-2 rule).


Brian,

I'm afraid you're mistaken on both of the situations.

If a player's number is wrong in the book, it is not a T on the player. Read the note to mick above for a clearer understanding of when to enforce 10-3-1.

If a player is added to the scorebook, the T must be called when the name is added. It doesn't matter whether the player has played or not. You're correct that he is legally in the game when the ball has become live. But if he's not in the book, the scorer should notify the nearest official and he should call a T and add the name to the scorebook. It is not to late to call the T and it is not a T on the player. If a coach walks up to the scorer in the middle of the first qtr. and says I need to add #12 to the book, she must add him. But she must also inform tan official at the next dead ball so the T can be assessed. If she doesn't, then it's too late. The T is assessed based on when the name is put in the book, not on when and whether the player plays or not. I offer the casebook play below as proof. In fact, several of the case book plays under 3.2 offer insight as to handle these plays.

3.2.2C. Play: Team A, No. 14, reports and is beckoned onto the court and the ball is put in play with a throw-in. The scorer beckons the referee at the first dead ball and reports that there is no No. 14 listed in the scorebook. Ruling: Number 14 became a player when the ball became live, however, since his or her name and number must now be entered into the scorebook, a technical foul is charged to Team A. (10-1-2b)

Ralph,

I don't have a problem with anyone disagreeing with me. It's a discussion board. We're going to have disagreements. That's how we learn.

I pride myself on studying and understanding the rule book. If that's being an answer man, then I guess I am. I always back up what I'm saying with a rule or case book reference. I wish others would do the same. If more people would research their stand before posting, we would have fewer disagreements. Everyone has an opinion but not everyone can back up what they're saying.

BTW, thanks for agreeing with me.

Tony

[Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 3rd, 2001 at 09:45 AM]
Reply With Quote