View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2017, 05:01pm
WreckRef WreckRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 119
2 or 3 point field goal?

This was posted on Reddit and I'm trying to figure out the answer.

Is this a 2 or a 3?

If I'm reading the NFHS case book correctly, it's a 3 point field goal as the position of the defender does not matter even though this isn't a try.

5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The
ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in
the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the
two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING:
In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense
and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three
points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three-point line.
In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the twopoint
area.


Someone in the comments said it's actually a college game so the next question is, what is the ruling in women's NCAA basketball?


Thanks

Edit: And yikes, that was not a good pass.

Does that count as 2 or 3?