[QUOTE=Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.;998358]I should be taking my post-lunch nap right now in preparation for the girls' JrHS basketball DH I am not supposed to be officiating this afternoon, but I promised that I would get back with some plays. Big Cat I would hope that you will take a real good look at them and give me your rulings.
I should also like to address the poster who referred to my initial post as a "disertation". Yes, it seemed long, but my comments were meant to show that even a simple play as the one in the video we are discussing can and does have many rules that must be applied simultaneously. I am a (retired) structural engineer and was a rules interpreter for ten years (as well as an OhioHSAA Certified Basketball Officiating Instructor) and sat on two IAABO National Committees for instruction and exams and that attention to detail is just how I do things.
Play A: Team A has the ball in its FC. A1, Team A's 7'-00" right handed
center is set up in the low post with his back to the basket. A1 either: 1)
receives a pass from A2 and in one continuous motion picks up his left foot
and starts to step across the lane jumping off his right foot then landing on his
left foot and then jumps off his left foot, and then either: a) releases the ball
on a pass to A3, or b) releases the ball for a sky-hook that kisses the glass on
it way through the basket; or 2) after stopping his dribble and in one
continuous motion picks up in left foot and starts to step across the lane
jumping off his right foot then landing on his left foot and then jumps off of his
left foot, and then either: a) releases the ball on a pass to A3, or b) releases the ball for a sky-hook that kisses the glass on it way through the basket. In both Play A-1 and Play A-2, A1 is fouled by B1 after he has starts to step with his left foot but before but before he releases the ball for the pass in (a) or the sky hook in (b). What it your Ruling?
I'll humor you.
You say he was fouled By B1 after he starts to step with left foot but before he releases ball on sky hook or pass. There's a gap there. If he fouls just after he began the step, arms doing nothing then no shot. If he completes the step, arms start going up,(or started going up before that) then i need to decide shot or pass. i will look at him and the play and decide if he was going to shoot it or dump it. There is a decision there. may error on side of shot. have to see it.
In this other play, w4 has to come down out of the air when she is fouled. She can then stand still, shoot or pass it. She was fouled while going down. It is too far back in time to say that is in the act. The throwing motion has never started.
finally, theres a certain amount of pornography involved here. Habitually precedes release…requires some "i know it when i see it" stuff. This girl is in no way shooting when she's fouled.
|