View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 06:20pm
DrPete DrPete is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Not an airborne shooter?

Interesting call in the UVA-Robert Morris game today.
RM player launches a 3 point try (which missed), defender jumps to try to block, shooter lands on his feet, and defender lands with one foot on shooters forward foot, causing shooter to fall backward. No contact until after the shooter landed. Foul called, and awarded three shots.
Don't know details of NCAA-M rules, but in NFHS, doesn't the shot end when the shooter lands? Thus a foul after the shot is over would be a common (not shooting foul). Am I misguided, or is the NCAA rule different???

If someone can post a video, it was at about 8:30 in the second half, on ESPN-U.
Reply With Quote