Quote:
Originally Posted by ComeOnRef
This is my first year officiating basketball and I have what i believe is a pretty basic question about backcourt violations. The other night while officiating a game, I had to backcourt situations arise in which I didn't believe they were backcourt. However, from the lead position both times my partner called the violation.
Situation 1: A1 has a throw-in from the frontcourt at the end-line. A2 touches in the frontcourt, but never gains possession. Finally, A2 is able to gain possession in the backcourt and lead calls violation. Since I'm new I really don't mind people stepping in my area if I miss something. However, please correct me if I'm wrong, doesn't A have to gain full possession before a violation can be called? A touch is not considered possession.
Situation 2: A1 passes to A2. A2 misses the pass and the ball bounces in the front court. A2 chases ball jumps from the frontcourt to backcourt, while in the air catches ball throws to another teammate in the frontcourt. A2 never lands in the backcourt with possession. Again, from lead position partner called backcourt violation. My perception is that since he never landed in the backcourt with possession and the ball never touched in the back-court there is no violation.
Any clarification is greatly appreciated.
|
The NFHS clarified the issue with your first question through a Point of Emphasis at the beginning of the 2014-15 season. Here is a link and the relevant text. Make special note of the final sentence.
http://dev.nfhs.org/articles/basketb...hasis-2014-15/
From NFHS Basketball Points of Emphasis 2014-15:
...
4. Team Control Status During Throw in; Team Control Status Inbounds - Since a 2011-12 rule change, team control exists during a throw in when the thrower in has the ball at her/his disposal. The change was made ONLY to eliminate the penalty of administering free throw(s) when a teammate of the thrower in commits a common foul during the throw in. The change made the penalty consistent with the penalty for other team control fouls. The penalty now is the awarding of a throw in to the opposing team at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the foul occurred. NOTE: Team control during a throw in is not intended to be equated to player control status inbounds which creates team control status inbounds.
During the throw in 10-seconds 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds.