View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 16, 2003, 08:33am
Tap Tap is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 96
throw out of play

Quote:
Originally posted by greymule
If he proceeds toward 3B, the ump makes the award of home, but as soon as the runner touches 3B, he cannot legally return to tag up. [Edited by greymule on Aug 14th, 2003 at 02:31 PM] [/B]
By saying that the runner cannot "legally return to tag up," does this mean that the umpire should refuse to let the runner return (e.g. "runner, you can't go back to tag up") or should still let the runner return, and then call the runner out if properly appealed by the defense? My sense is the latter, as the former is a giveaway to the defense to appeal, though I had an instructor at a clinic tell me I should tell the runner she can't return.
Reply With Quote