View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2016, 01:27pm
SC Official SC Official is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by RefRich View Post
According to Rule 9.9, there is not violation because there has been no established position in the front court. All of the discussion so far appears to be that the ball is in the front court already. The jumping from the front court to the back court is not a factor because nothing has been established yet.

"in order to have a backcourt violation, “player and team” control must first be established in the frontcourt. This means a player must have been dribbling or holding the ball entirely in the frontcourt."

Isn't this a true statement? Now if his back foot lands in the newly established front court then when his front foot lands in the now defined back court it would be a violation. But in this case it would be a foul (based on the angle that I see visable)
An airborne player retains the status of where he last touched the floor. You have frontcourt status if you jump from the frontcourt and have backcourt status once you land.

And player control is not (necessarily) required in the frontcourt to have a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote