View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 02, 2001, 04:02pm
Richard Ogg Richard Ogg is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 252
Don't make the error!

They say the best way to handle a correctable error is not to make an error in the first place. Generally, most of us don't make them on purpose, so I often dislike that trite advice. However, in this situation you can minimize the opportunity for an error by having the calling official administer the freethrows. Your partner knows what he called, and what the remedy should be.

If this doesn't work (he insist I administer the freethrows), then I review with him what I intend to do. "OK, A5 will shoot one freethrow, then someone will shoot 2 for the Technical, right?"

But error committed, what do you do? Awarding an unmerrited freethrow is correctable until the 2nd live ball (or similar - rule book not with me). I don't think "at the disposal of the freethrow shooter" applies in this case as a live ball since the clock will not be starting. (Again, my kingdom for a rule book!) Your posting implies the scorer buzzed you before the inbound from the Technical foul, so at that point I would wipe-off the first shot, live with the second two, and get the game started as fast as possible.

I'm sure Mark or Cammron or one of those guys will give us the straight scoop.
Reply With Quote