Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat
1. If the properly placed pylon is "out of bounds" (1-4) why do we consider a ball in player possession (A runner going towards B' goal line) that touches the pylon a TD?
2. Kick off heading towards EZ, hits one of the front pylons: Touch back or Kick out of bounds?
|
Actually the rule reads "When properly placed, the goal line pylon is out of bounds at the intersection of the sideline and goal line extended". So if one considers the goal line extension, the pylon would be completely in the end zone. So on scrimmage kicks and free kicks where the ball hits the pylon before going OOB it actually breaks the plane of the goal line. Result is a touchback.