View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 30, 2016, 12:59pm
teebob21 teebob21 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Without regard to how it should be done, isn't that what the book says?
Tru has raised an excellent point. R1 and R2, base umpire in the C position behind F6. On an caught infield line drive where the runners have left the base before the batted ball is touched, the book says the PU makes the call at 2B? I assure you this gets called by every BU partner I've ever worked with. Semi-applicable MLB video example: Bryant's line-drive double play | MLB.com

While this IS a live-ball appeal, it's not a "tag-up & advance" appeal, which is probably what Andy was referring to.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote